New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - Cannot assign a nil to a TComboBoxStrings
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

Cannot assign a nil to a TComboBoxStrings

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
Martijnke View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 03-November-2011
Location: belgium
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martijnke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: Cannot assign a nil to a TComboBoxStrings
    Posted: 22-November-2011 at 1:42am
Hi all,
 
we have a basic script that contains the following code :
 
  v_pb.addparam ( parDatabaseLogon, 'MYDB', 'Database', '', '' );
    { --
     -- show the parameter screen and wait for inputs
     -- }
    IF v_ps.ShowParamScreen('......') THEN
this causes the following error :
  Cannot assign a nil to a TComboBoxStrings
 
when we put the followng line in comment
   //v_pb.addparam ( parDatabaseLogon, 'MYDB', 'Database', '', '' );
the error disappears but of course now we can no longer logon to a database
the thing is this does not happen on all of our PCs

Any help would be appreciated

Kr

Martin
 
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1002
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-November-2011 at 5:04am
Martin,

That sounds like a bug ... i probably look for database-aliases in the TNSNAMES file and show them in the database combobox. If i can't find anything then this error could happen (or at least that would explain it). I will have a look through the code and try to reproduce the problem ... a release fixing this issue should hopefully be out sometime in the next couple of days!

Regards,
Stefan
Back to Top
Martijnke View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 03-November-2011
Location: belgium
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martijnke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 22-November-2011 at 11:53pm
Stefan,
 
thx for your swift reply, I probably should mention that the machine giving this issue
runs under windows 2008 R2 server (64bit),
I used ProcessMonitor and found the following difference between 32bit and 64bit :
 
in XP SP3 we clearly see formsapimaster reading tnsnames.ora
in win 2008 it does not seem to get to the point where it reads this file, no attempt is made to read tnsnames.ora
maybe this could help you
 
Kr
Martin
ReadlDolmen
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1002
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23-November-2011 at 12:06am
the system is 64bit .. but the oracle client is still 32bit, right?
Back to Top
Martijnke View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 03-November-2011
Location: belgium
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martijnke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 23-November-2011 at 12:34am

Stefan,

 
I think it could be 64 bit as this is the output tnsping gives us :
 
C:\Oracle\Middleware\as_1\bin>tnsping
TNS Ping Utility for 64-bit Windows: Version 11.1.0.7.0 - Production on 23-NOV-2
011 09:30:52
Copyright (c) 1997, 2008, Oracle.  All rights reserved.
 
however the 64 bit also has forms builder 32 bit installed on it
 
how can we be sure how many bits the oracle client is ?
 
 
Kr
Martin
Realdolmen
Back to Top
Martijnke View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 03-November-2011
Location: belgium
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martijnke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-November-2011 at 8:12am
Stefan,
 
any progress on this ?
 
Kr
Martin
realdolmen.com
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1002
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 27-November-2011 at 7:15pm
fixed in built 418 that is going to be released later today. 
Back to Top
Martijnke View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 03-November-2011
Location: belgium
Points: 15
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote Martijnke Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 28-November-2011 at 12:00am
thx so much, looking forward to next release
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.