New Posts New Posts RSS Feed - List Elements
  FAQ FAQ  Forum Search   Events   Register Register  Login Login

List Elements

 Post Reply Post Reply
Author
jayaramn View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 25-February-2013
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jayaramn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Topic: List Elements
    Posted: 25-February-2013 at 1:37pm
Hello,
 Our company uses your forms tool to do comparison and so forth.
We re facing this issue with your tool and hope to get it resolved asap.
Here are the steps( i used forms 11g R2, but you could use 10g also)
1) Create a simple form form1.fmb with one block blk1
2) create a poplist item item1 in blk1 with just 1 element in list
  Label: None
  Value : N
You can have any number of values or different values, above is just an example value
3) Copy item1 in the same block and rename to item2
4) Open properties of item2 and change it to text item type rather than list.
5) Save it.
6) Convert the form to xml and back to fmb in a different folder or same folder renaming the original file to say form1orig.fmb(after converting form1 to xml) to avoid overwrite.
7) Compare form1orig.fmb and new form1 (converted from xml back to fmb) in forms tool.
You ll see that forms tool is still showing the copied item Item2 as list element and showing differences even though its a text item now.
This is a big problem for us when comparing huge forms code.
Please help us out.
thanks.
 
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-February-2013 at 6:49pm
I followed your example with Forms10gR2 - the conversion to xml and back seems to get rid of the list elements, but it's not changing the item type:


can you send me your two modules (to support@orcl-toolbox.com) with the item type difference in them? I would like to have a look at the version of it (maybe your form2xml script is being picked up from an older folder).

Back to Top
jayaramn View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 25-February-2013
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jayaramn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-February-2013 at 10:13pm

Hello,

Thanks for replying.
We already see in your reply that we do see difference where forms compare is still showing difference in item2 and showing list elements on orig.fmb side where its actually only a text item now and was previously a list item. the dest.fmb clearly shows that there s no list element.
So, i am not following you when you would still like to see my modules?
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 25-February-2013 at 10:34pm
the Oracle Forms2XML converter deleted those list elements. 
Nothing to do with FormsTool.

 
<?xml version = '1.0' encoding = 'UTF-8'?>
<Module version="101020002" xmlns="http://xmlns.oracle.com/Forms">
   <FormModule Name="ORIG" ConsoleWindow="WINDOW1" DirtyInfo="true" MenuModule="DEFAULT&amp;SMARTBAR" Title="MODULE1">
      <Coordinate CharacterCellWidth="5" CoordinateSystem="Real" CharacterCellHeight="13" RealUnit="Point" DefaultFontScaling="true"/>
      <Block Name="BLOCK2" DirtyInfo="true" ScrollbarWidth="11" ScrollbarLength="126">
         <Item Name="ITEM1" DirtyInfo="true" ListElementCount="1" Height="13" Width="54" ItemType="List Item">
            <ListItemElement Index="1" Name="" Value="N"/>
         </Item>
         <Item Name="ITEM2" DirtyInfo="true" ListElementCount="1" Height="13" Width="54" ItemType="Text Item"/>
      </Block>
      <Canvas Name="CANVAS8" ViewportHeight="302" DirtyInfo="true" Height="302" WindowName="WINDOW1" Width="432" ViewportWidth="432"/>
      <Window Name="WINDOW1" Height="302" Width="432"/>
   </FormModule>
</Module>

in your original post you said the item type changed (which i couldn't reproduce) .. thats what i am more concerned with, not the missing list elements.

Regards,
Stefan
Back to Top
jayaramn View Drop Down
Groupie
Groupie


Joined: 25-February-2013
Points: 3
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote jayaramn Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-February-2013 at 9:05am
Hi Sir,
 Thanks again for the reply.
 I think its to do with forms tool bcos it should not be comparing against List elements which is a hidden and invalid property when it is text item and Forms2XML rightly deletes it since it s not part of a text item.  Sorry for not being clear, the item type did not change but its comparing against properties which it is not available for that item.
Hence wanted to know how to go about this.
 
Thanks.
Back to Top
administrator View Drop Down
Admin Group
Admin Group

Stefan Mueller

Joined: 25-January-2003
Location: New Zealand
Points: 1016
Post Options Post Options   Thanks (0) Thanks(0)   Quote administrator Quote  Post ReplyReply Direct Link To This Post Posted: 26-February-2013 at 11:49pm
Ok, i now can see what you mean. There are probably many more properties like that (record group static values switching to query will leave the items, block based on a package will leave the datasource-columns for select/insert/delete/update ... radio buttons .. and probably a huge list of properties (button icons, checkbox values, etc) that could also show up after an object type change. 

To be honest, it's not exactly something trivial to implement (requiring quite a bit of work/time) for something that i consider to be a rare fringe case. If you have a large amount of modules with this kind of problems then you might want to have a look at FormsAPI Master and write a simple one-off fix script.

Regards,
Stefan
Back to Top
 Post Reply Post Reply
  Share Topic   

Forum Jump Forum Permissions View Drop Down

Forum Software by Web Wiz Forums® version 11.01
Copyright ©2001-2014 Web Wiz Ltd.